“Remember inner work!” Happy birthday Mister Gurdjieff – I remember …

Today is the day I along with thousands of people around the world celebrated the birthday of this man:

Georges Gurdjieff, head-and-shoulders portrait, facing front Janet Flanner-Solita Solano papers. - http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/95507085/

Georges Gurdjieff, head-and-shoulders portrait, facing front
Janet Flanner-Solita Solano papers. – http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/95507085/

G.I. Gurdjieff, who among other things, was one of the three great esoteric modernisers (the other two being Blavatsky and Steiner, but that’s a story for another day). Anyone who describes themselves as ‘spiritual, not religious’ owes this man much.

He and his ideas and practices have been part of my life in some fashion and degree for a quarter of a century, and 2015 is the year I acknowledge that debt. For those of you with eyes to see, you know the significance of what I write here: a toast!

Armagnac

The most visible manifestation of that debt will be the publication of my 2005 thesis (I know! I KNOW! So much ‘disease of tomorrow’) on embodiment and materialism in Beelzebub’s Tales this year. In this post I am committing to ‘put real attention on Beelzebub’s Tales‘ and blogging about that revision process as part of my goals for 2015. More on those goals latter this month, as I conduct my review in my holiday break before the start of a new school year.

In the meantime, please pause and absorb the hose of my tweets and re-tweets today which focused on Gurdjieff which I have curated for you here, dear reader. I also wish to acknowledge here the influence of philosopher Jacob Needleman, about whom I can say that he was my first ‘teacher’ on the way and the one I keep coming back to. You’ll find a video from him on Gurdjieff’s work below; more about him in coming posts.

Leave a Reply

